ALERT STATUS UPDATE – TD BANYAN (1120/23W) – #1

The alert status has been upgraded to GREEN… Hong Kong may be affected by a tropical cyclone in the coming future.

Tropical Depression BANYAN (1120/23W) is currently moving to the northwest or north-northwest. This moving direction is forecast to remain more or less the same in the next 24 to 36 hours until a northeast monsoon arrives and leads BANYAN to the west. As BANYAN moves closer, the winds in Hong Kong may pick up because of the increase in pressure gradient.

Please pay attention to the track of BANYAN.

LATEST INFORMATION AT 17:00 UTC / 01:00 HKT:
==========================================
Position: 15.4N 117.4E (838 km SSE of HK),
Maximum sustained winds: 45 km/h gusting 75 km/h (25G40KT),
Minimum SLP: 1000 hPa,
Moving NW at 20 km/h over the past 6 hours.

24-HR FORECAST:
===============
Position: 17.5N 116.3E (578 km SSE of HK),
Maximum sustained winds: 55 km/h gusting 85 km/h (30G45KT).

The next alert advisory is scheduled for 04:00 UTC / 12:00 HKT.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *