ALERT STATUS UPDATE – TD BANYAN (1120/23W) – #2

The alert status remains GREEN…

Hong Kong may be affected by a tropical cyclone in the coming future…

The weak Tropical Depression BANYAN (1120/23W) is moving to the north/north-northwest over the South China Sea. This moving direction is forecast to remain more or less the same in the next 12 hours or so. Afterwards, BANYAN should turn to the west under the influence of low level northeasterlies.

BANYAN is expected to remain weak during the forecast period.

Winds in Hong Kong may pick up on Sunday because of the increase in pressure gradient. Strong Force winds can be expected offshore occasionally.

Please pay attention to the track of BANYAN.

LATEST INFORMATION AT 04:00 UTC / 12:00 HKT:
=========================================
Position: 17.8N 117.4E (603 km SSE of HK),
Maximum sustained winds: 45 km/h gusting 75 km/h (25G40KT),
Minimum SLP: 1004 hPa,
Moving N at 21 km/h over the past 6 hours.

24-HR FORECAST FOR 04:00 UTC / 12:00 HKT:
=====================================
Position: 18.7N 116.2E (452 km SSE of HK),
Maximum sustained winds: 55 km/h gusting 85 km/h (30G45KT).

The next alert status update is scheduled for 16:00 UTC / 00:00 HKT.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *