ALERT STATUS UPDATE – TD BANYAN (1120/23W) – #3

The alert status remains GREEN…

Hong Kong may be affected by a tropical cyclone in the coming future…

The weak Tropical Depression BANYAN (1120/23W) has been moving northwest over the past 12 hours. TD BANYAN is forecast turn to the west-southwest under the influence of low level northeasterlies about 24 hours later.

BANYAN is expected to remain weak during the forecast period.

Winds in Hong Kong may pick up slightly on Sunday. Strong Force winds may occur occasionally offshore.

There is also a chance that BANYAN may weaken into a Low Pressure Area tomorrow or on Sunday.

LATEST INFORMATION AT 15:00 UTC / 23:00 HKT:
=========================================

Position: 18.5N 117.0E (514 km SSE of HK),
Maximum sustained winds: 45 km/h gusting 75 km/h (25G40KT),
Minimum SLP: 1006 hPa,
Moving NNW at 8 km/h over the past 6 hours.

24-HR FORECAST FOR 15:00 UTC / 23:00 HKT:
=====================================
Position: 19.4N 116.3E (391 km SSE of HK),
Maximum sustained winds: 45 km/h gusting 75 km/h (25G40KT).

The next alert status update is scheduled for 10:00 UTC / 18:00 HKT.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *