ALERT STATUS UPDATE – TS KUJIRA (T1508/08W) – #02

The alert status is now YELLOW… There is an elevated risk that Hong Kong will be affected by a tropical cyclone in the next 48 hours…

VIS 2015-06-21 08Z

VIS 2015-06-21 08Z

Tokyo upgraded 08W into Tropical Storm KUJIRA (T1508/08W) in the morning…

KUJIRA remains weak… Its convection is found mainly in the southwest quadrant… leaving the low level circulation centre partially exposed… A new burst of convection is building over the LLCC recently… The initial intensity of KUJIRA is estimated to be 65 km/h (35 kts) (10-min)…

Environmental conditions are okay for development… Yet… northeasterly wind shear is a bit strong (20 kts)… KUJIRA should be able to intensify and consolidate slowly and slightly over the next 36 hours…

As for the track forecast… KUJIRA will move north along the western edge of the ridge… towards northeastern Hainan and western Guangdong… Landfall on or around Leizhou Peninsula is possible on Tuesday…

Showers will become more frequent tomorrow… Easterly to southeasterly winds will strengthen…  reaching Strong Force occasionally later tomorrow and on Tuesday… Please pay attention to the movement of KUJIRA…

alert_201508W_02a

LATEST INFORMATION AT 08:00 UTC / 16:00 HKT:
=========================================
Position: 16.4N 111.3E (721 km SSW of HK; 120 km SW of Xisha) based on VIS,
Maximum sustained winds: 65 km/h gusting 85 km/h (25G35KT),
Minimum SLP: 992 hPa.

24-HR FORECAST FOR 08:00 UTC / 16:00 HKT:
=====================================
Position: 18.7N 111.4E (493 km SW of HK),
Maximum sustained winds: 75 km/h gusting 100 km/h (40G055KT).

At 08:10 UTC / 16:10 HKT…
Waglan Island reported easterly winds of 27 km/h…

The next alert advisory is scheduled for 06:30 UTC / 14:30 HKT tomorrow…

Remember to follow our Facebook page for more instant updates…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *