ALERT STATUS UPDATE – TS KUJIRA (T1508/08W) – #04

The alert status is YELLOW… 

IR 2015-06-22 1001Z (from NOAA)

IR 2015-06-22 1001Z (from NOAA)

Tropical Storm KUJIRA (T1508/08W) made landfall on Wanning, Hainan, China at around 10:50 UTC / 18:50 HKT… Moderate northeasterly wind shear prevails… preventing convection from building above the low level circulation centre… The initial intensity of TS KUJIRA is estimated to be 75 km/h (40 kts) (10-min)…

KUJIRA will weaken gradually due to land interaction…

The cyclone will make a gradual turn to the northwest… It will move into the Gulf of Tonkin tomorrow…

Widespread Strong Force winds are not expected in Hong Kong… but  heavy squally thundery showers will continue to affect the territory…  Strong Force southeasterly winds will be observed occasionally over offshore waters and on highlands…  Please take necessary actions to prevent loss if you are facing southeast…

alert_201508W_04a

LATEST INFORMATION AT 12:00 UTC / 20:00 HKT:
=========================================
Position: 18.9N 110.3E (544 km SW of HK; 115 km S of Haikou, China) based on IR and radar,
Maximum sustained winds: 75 km/h gusting 100 km/h (40G55KT),
Minimum SLP: 988 hPa.

24-HR FORECAST AT 12:00 UTC / 20:00 HKT:
=====================================
Position: 21.3N 108.8E (565 km WSW of HK),
Maximum sustained winds: 55 km/h gusting 85 km/h (30G45KT).

At 13:10 UTC / 21:10 HKT…
Cheung Chau Beach reported easterly winds of 32 km/h…

The next alert advisory is scheduled for 06:30 UTC / 14:30 HKT tomorrow…

Remember to follow our Facebook page for more instant updates…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *