ALERT STATUS UPDATE – STS LINFA (T1510/10W) – #02

The alert status is now GREEN… Hong Kong may be affected by a tropical cyclone in the coming future…

IR 2015-07-07 1301Z (from NOAA)

IR 2015-07-07 1301Z (from NOAA)

Radar 2015-07-07 1442Z (from CWB)

Radar 2015-07-07 1442Z (from CWB)

Severe Tropical Storm LINFA (T1510/10W/EgayPH) is moving north-northwest slowly over the South China Sea…

The overall organization of LINFA improved significantly today… Curved bands built and wrapped nicely around the LLCC… The initial intensity is estimated to be about 90 km/h (50 kts) (10-min)… LINFA’s appearance degraded slightly at night but radar animation reveals that the storm structure remains good…

Environmental conditions are somehow favourable for further development… We expect LINFA to intensify slightly tomorrow… before weakening again as it makes landfall and moves across Guangdong…

The storm should follow a more westerly track tomorrow as the ridge builds… LINFA may make landfall on eastern Guangdong Thursday morning… then it should move west across the entire province Thursday and Friday as a weakening TS or TD…

Moderate northerly winds prevail here in Hong Kong… As LINFA approaches the coast… showers will increase and there may be fresh northerly to northwesterly winds on Wednesday… and then westerly to northwesterly winds on Thursday… The actual weather conditions depend on when LINFA begins its westward turn… Please keep an eye on this storm…

alert_201510W_02a

LATEST INFORMATION AT 13:00 UTC / 21:00 HKT:
=========================================
Position: 20.8N 118.8E (507 km ESE of HK; 216 km E of Dongsha) based on IR and radar,
Maximum sustained winds: 90 km/h gusting 130 km/h (50G70KT),
Minimum SLP: 984 hPa.

24-HR FORECAST FOR 13:00 UTC / 21:00 HKT:
=====================================
Position: 22.4N 118.1E (404 km E of HK),
Maximum sustained winds: 100 km/h gusting 140 km/h (55G75KT).

At 21:00 local time… Dongsha Buoy reported gust speed of 86 km/h… from the East…

The next alert advisory is scheduled for 06:30 UTC / 14:30 HKT or 14:30 UTC / 22:30 HKT…

Remember to follow our Facebook page for more instant updates…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *