ALERT STATUS UPDATE – STS LINFA (T1510/10W) – #03

The alert status is now YELLOW… There is an elevated risk that Hong Kong will be affected by a tropical cyclone in the next 48 hours…

Radar 2015-07-07 1436Z (from CMA)

Radar 2015-07-07 1436Z (from CMA)

IR 2015-07-08 1401Z (from NOAA)

IR 2015-07-08 1401Z (from NOAA)

Severe Tropical Storm LINFA (T1510/10W/EgayPH) is making a slow westward turn…

LINFA intensified today… Intense curved bands wrapped tightly around the centre… A clear eye structure can be observed on radar imageries… The initial intensity is estimated to be about 110 km/h (60 kts) (10-min)…

Environmental conditions are somehow favourable for further development… STS LINFA may continue to intensify and become a Typhoon briefly before making landfall later tomorrow… The storm intensity will decrease steadily as it travels westward across the coast of Guangdong on Friday..

LINFA is starting to move west or west-northwest slowly as the ridge builds… LINFA should follow a more westerly track tomorrow… Current forecast shows LINFA moving close to Hong Kong in the early morning of Friday…

The approaching storm CHAN-HOM may also affect the track of LINFA… There is a possibility that LINFA… or the remnant of LINFA… may move equatorward back to the South China Sea…

As STS LINFA edges closer to the coast… squally showers should affect Hong Kong tomorrow afternoon… Northwesterly winds will strengthen gradually… reaching Strong Force in the afternoon… 

Widespread gales may be observed in the late evening to Friday morning (or Friday afternoon depending on the forward speed) if LINFA hits the territory… A few models suggest that the storm may move even slower in the next 2 to 3 days…

Please pay extra attention to the movement of LINFA tomorrow…

alert_201510W_03a

LATEST INFORMATION AT 14:00 UTC / 22:00 HKT:
=========================================
Position: 22.3N 118.2E (414 km E of HK; 198 km SE of Shantou) based on IR and radar,
Maximum sustained winds: 110 km/h gusting 165 km/h (60G85KT),
Minimum SLP: 975 hPa.

24-HR FORECAST FOR 14:00 UTC / 22:00 HKT:
=====================================
Position: 22.8N 115.5E (147 km E of HK),
Maximum sustained winds: 110 km/h gusting 165 km/h (60G85KT).

The next alert advisory is scheduled for 06:30 UTC / 14:30 HKT or 11:30 UTC / 19:30 HKT…

Remember to follow our Facebook page for more instant updates…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *