ALERT STATUS UPDATE – TY LINFA (T1510/10W) – #04

The alert status is now YELLOW… There is an elevated risk that Hong Kong will be affected by a tropical cyclone in the next 48 hours…

VIS 2015-07-09 0201Z (from NOAA)

VIS 2015-07-09 0201Z (from NOAA)

HKO Radar showing the eye of LINFA ENE of HK

HKO Radar showing the eye of LINFA ENE of HK

Severe Tropical Storm LINFA (T1510/10W/EgayPH) has intensified into a Typhoon… and it will make landfall on Guangdong shortly…

LINFA continued to gain strength during the night… Curved bands near the centre are intense and tightly wrapped… Radar images show a well-developed eye structure… The initial intensity in this report is increased to 130 km/h (70 kts) (10-min)…

TY LINFA is located very near to the coast of Jieyang… No more intensification is expected and the storm should weaken slowly as it travels westward across the coast of Guangdong today and Friday…

LINFA accelerated to the west in the early morning… The cyclone should continue moving west today…It will make landfall near the border of Shanwei and Jieyang shortly… Current forecast shows LINFA passing very close to Hong Kong tonight or in the early morning of Friday…

As LINFA approaches HK… squally showers should begin to affect us in the afternoon… Northwesterly winds will strengthen noticeably… reaching Strong Force in the afternoon… Widespread gales may be observed in the late evening… 

Please pay extra attention to the movement of LINFA… and please be well prepared to prevent losses…

alert-201510w-04a

LATEST INFORMATION AT 02:00 UTC / 10:00 HKT:
=========================================
Position: 22.8N 116.6E (256 km ENE of HK; 67 km S of Shantou) based on radar,
Maximum sustained winds: 130 km/h gusting 165 km/h (70G90KT),
Minimum SLP: 970 hPa.

24-HR FORECAST FOR 14:00 UTC / 22:00 HKT:
=====================================
Position: 22.1N 113.1E (112 km W of HK), overland,
Maximum sustained winds: 100 km/h gusting 150 km/h (55G80KT).

The next alert advisory is scheduled for 12:30 UTC / 20:30 HKT or earlier…

Remember to follow our Facebook page for more instant updates…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *